About Us

Our Mission
To satisfy customer needs through the provision of an efficient and quality transport service.

Our Vision
To be the most preferred transport organization in the sub-region.

Administrative Structure
The Bilateral Agreement relating to the Tanzania-Zambia Railway, made between the two Governments on 29 th September 1993, forms the basis and foundation of the existence of TAZARA. This Agreement is given effect by the TAZARA Act, which provides for the governance of the Authority, the nature of business transactions and other matters related to the provision of services by the railway.

The two Governments of the United Republic of Tanzania and the Republic of Zambia hold the shares of TAZARA on a joint and equal basis. TAZARA operates as a statutory body established by the National Legislatures of both Tanzania and Zambia, through the TAZARA Act of1975, amended and replaced by the TAZARA Act of 7th July 1995.

The governance structure, as provided for by the TAZARA Act, comprises a Council of Ministers, Board of Directors and Management.

The Council of Ministers
The Council of Ministers is the supreme policy organ of TAZARA, comprising six (6) Ministers, three from each country respectively, i.e. the Ministries in charge of Transport, Finance and Trade/Commerce. The Ministers responsible for Transport are the Chairpersons of the Council in rotation between Tanzania and Zambia at the turn of each financial year, commencing on the 1 st July and ending on the 30th June the following year. The Council of Ministers is required to meet at least once every year.

The Board of Directors