The Workers Union of TAZARA in Zambia (WUTAZ) has ushered in new leaders to oversee the affairs of some of the workers in TAZARA in the next four years, Ernest Mwape reports from Mpika.

The Fifth Supreme Council of WUTAZ, which was held at Musa Agriculture Training Centre in Kasama on Friday 3 June 2016, saw the entire old executive members being voted out in an election that was supervised by Labour officer Clive Chibale and FODEP Principal Officer Martin Malambo.

Announcing the results, Returning Officer Handson Lungu from FODEP said Mr Bedwin Malowa (Technician – Civil, Mpika) had been elected president after beating two others, including the incumbent Kenneth Simwinza and Ephram Shaba.

Dorothy Namwinga (Secretary, Lusaka Area Office) scooped the position of Vice President.

Mr Lungu announced that Julius Banda (motor vehicle driver – Mpika) was the new General Secretary after defeating the incumbent, Africa Mkandawire.

Beatrice Kampangwe (Stenographer – Mpika) won the position of Deputy General Secretary, defeating the incumbent Jabin Chibwe, webby Musonda and Boston Mwenya.

William Miti (Booking Clerk – Nakonde) has been elected Treasurer.

Other elected executive members are: Kaisa Festance (Gang Foreman – Mkushi) as Trustee Assets, Ireen Chiluba (Electrician – Mechanical, NKM) as Trustee Finance and Adamson Mwewa (Artisan – Mpika Workshops) as TAZARA Joint Industrial Council member.

The retuning officer further announced the elected Area Members as Frederick Chilufya (Carpenter – Mpika) for Mpika, Zengs Simfukwe (Artisan) for New Kapiri Mposhi and Curfew Chitakataka (Gang Foreman – Serenje) for Serenje.

In addition Mwitwa Mambwe ( Maintenance Supervisor S & T – Mkushi) was elected Mkushi area member, Maxwell Kafula (Pointsman – Chambeshi) for Kasama, Collins Siachabizwa (Number Taker – Chozi) for Chozi, Gauti Mwanza (Gang Foreman Civil – Kungu) for Kungu – Nseluka and Dunda Kasanga (Gangman – Civil, Chilonga) for Mununga – Chilonga.